This website was active from February 2006 until June 2007.
Introduction of the euro in Slovenia
Euro banknotes and coins
Additional resources

Euro banknotes

After 1 January 2002, the euro banknote series in circulation in the euro area comprises seven different values (denominations): 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200 and 500 euro.

Each euro banknote shows a European architectural style:

  • Classical,
  • Romanesque,
  • Gothic,
  • Renaissance,
  • Baroque and rococo,
  • The age of iron and glass,
  • Modern 20th century architecture.

On the front, the banknotes show windows and gateways. They symbolise the European spirit of openness and cooperation. The 12 stars of the European Union represent the dynamism and harmony of contemporary Europe. The bridges on the back symbolise communication between the people of Europe and between Europe and the rest of the world.

Euro banknotes

Colour: Grey
Architectural period: Classical
Colour: Red
Architectural period: Romanesque
Colour: Blue
Architectural period: Gothic
Colour: Orange
Architectural period: Renaissance
Colour: Green
Architectural period: Baroque and rococo
Colour: Yellow-brown
Architectural period:
Age of iron and glass
Colour: Purple
Architectural period: Modern 20th century